Write a letter to support a cycle track on Beacon St.

You have until February 14, 2013 to write a letter to the state describing why you’d like to see a well-designed cycletrack on Beacon Street. The design isn’t perfect yet, so even though the Union is in full support, we’re also asking for a few improvements:

  • Extend the cycletrack all the way to Inman Square (or the Cambridge City Line).
  • Explore leasing parking for a metered parking lot at the new Whole Foods site (as a community benefit to offset the increased traffic the store will bring).
  • Build raised crosswalks for pedestrians and a raised cycletrack for cyclists at all unsignalized cross streets for added protection.

Please feel free to join in on these asks. Your letter should be original, but it can be long or short. You speak from the heart, or speak from your smarts. Your opinions matter, and a heartfelt letter can sometimes have more impact than one full of technical jargon. And because this particular letter is to the state transportation department (MassDOT), any regional user of Beacon Street is encouraged to write. You can also cc any of the other city and state officials below.

Written statements and other exhibits in place of, or in addition to, oral statements made at the Public Hearing regarding the proposed undertaking are to be submitted to:

Thomas F. Broderick, P.E., Chief Engineer
MassDOT
10 Park Plaza
Boston, MA 02116
Attention.: Project Management Section, Project File No. 607209

or emailed to:
dot.feedback.highway@state.ma.us

Mailed statements and exhibits intended for inclusion in the public hearing transcript must be postmarked within ten (10) business days of this Public Hearing. Project inquiries may be emailed to dot.feedback.highway@state.ma.us

If you are a Somerville resident, you may want to cc the following list of people including the Somerville Chief of Staff, Somerville Director of Transportation and Tranposrtation, MassDOT Project Manager, Somerville Aldermen At Large, and your ward alderman. Don’t know which ward you live in? Click here.

Janice Delory, Somerville Chief of Staff: jdelory@somervillema.gov

Hayes Morrison, Somerville Director of Transportation and Infrastructure; hmorrison@somervillema.gov

Shawn Holland, MassDOT Project Manager; shawn.holland@state.ma.us

John Connoly, Alderman At Large; aldermanconnolly@gmail.com

Bruce Desmond, Alderman At Large; brucemdesmond@yahoo.com

Dennis Sullivan, Alderman At Large; aldermansullivan@aol.com

William White, Jr., Alderman At Large; william.a.white@verizon.net

William Roche, Alderman Ward 1; aldermanroche@comcast.net

Maryann Heuston, Alderman Ward 2; mheuston@hotmail.com

Thomas Taylor, Alderman Ward 3; tftald32@aol.com

Tony Lafuente, Alderman Ward 4; tony@tonylafuente.com

Sean O’Donovan, Alderman Ward 5; sean@odonovanlaw.com

Rebekah Gewirtz, Alderman Ward 6; rebekah.gewirtz@gmail.com

Robert Trane, Alderman Ward 7; roberttrane@aol.com